Free shipping within the EU

Questions & Answers

myBioma

We are an Austrian, medical-technical start-up, which tries to give all people easy access to the most modern intestinal microbiome analysis (= intestinal flora). And this directly from home! In order to conduct the analysis in a scientifically-based manner, we work closely together with renowned European universities. The analysis report is always up to date with the latest scientific findings and is regularly checked and improved by experts.

You receive a detailed intestinal microbiom analysis based on the latest scientific findings:

  • Easy and understandable presentation of the results via myBioma App: With the free myBioma App, you get regular status updates on where your sample is at the moment, your complete report is available directly on your smartphone.
  • Nutrition and lifestyle recommendations: In your report you will receive scientifically based recommendations to improve your microbiome health in a sustainable way!
  • Worldwide the first microbiome company to be double ISO certified: Your guarantee for services of the highest quality!
  • myBioma Analysis Platform: Contains more than 800 important associations between intestinal bacteria and diseases and more than 3500 scientific publications on specific intestinal issues, as well as sound intestinal intestinal microbiome data from Central Europe.
  • Take advantage of our network of doctors & nutritionists: If you would like a personal consultation, we will gladly recommend a suitable person from the myBioma network! Find out more here.  Find your therapist
  • Data protection: We keep our mouth shut! Your personal data is stored in a high-security computer centre directly in Vienna, absolute discretion is guaranteed!

Further reasons for myBioma you can fine here: Reasons why test

The protection of your data is one of the most relevant challenges for us. The data is stored encrypted on secure servers in Austria. Furthermore, there is no transfer of your data to insurance companies, banks or advertising institutions.

we keep our mouth shut!

We deliver within whole Europe – and free of shipping costs! If you live outside of Europe and still want to do a myBioma microbiome analysis, send us an email directly and we will find a solution!

Order

That’s true. However, your doctor’s analysis will be based on stool cultures. Such cultures are one of the oldest methods of analysis (for 200 years) and are scientifically inaccurate in the quantitative detection of different bacteria.

On the other hand, myBioma can detect more than 1000 different types of bacteria using Next Generation DNA Sequencing and also gives you information about the functions of bacteria. Due to the complexity of Next Generation Sequencing, the analysis is very cost-intensive.

PRIVATE DOCTOR

So that the entire process, from order to receipt of the result, is as easy as possible for you, we do not charge any extra costs for return shipping. You just have to throw the envelope in the envelope with the stool sample into the nearest mailbox. Everything else we take care for you!

The stool tube contains a solution in which your bacteria can survive transport to our laboratory without cooling. No matter if summer or winter – sending the sample by post will not affect your results.

The preservation liquid stabilises the sample for several months without cooling. This is very important for us because we analyse the balance and distribution of the intestinal bacteria.

Analysis

The analysis is based on Next-Generation DNA Sequencing. This is the most modern method for DNA determination. We use this method to analyse the DNA of your bacteria. This tells us which bacteria are in your stool and how well they metabolize, for example: sugar.
Read more about your result here (Sample report )

The sampling is very easy and fast. In your kit you will find instructions with the following steps:

  1. Stick stool collector to the toilet bowl.
  2. Take a sample at one point using the sampling stick.
  3. Stir the sampling stick into the tube and screw tight.
  4. Send the tube back to us free.

Immediately after your order, we will send the kit to your home. After taking the stool sample, you drop the envelope with the tube into the next mailbox and we extract the DNA and prepare the sequencing. Afterwards the sample has to be processed by us using bioinformatics, which will provide you with a clear and detailed report.

Our aim is to constantly reduce the time needed for analysis. However, because the analysis is so time-consuming, you should allow 4-6 weeks until you receive your results.

We analyse all your bacteria and combine the results with the latest studies. Your result includes the following points:

  • Diversity and health of your gut
  • Determination of enterotypes
  • Production of vitamins and insights into sugar, fat and protein metabolism
  • Inflammation indicators and infections
  • Effects of your intestinal flora on immune system, liver, weight, diabetes and cardiovascular diseases
  • Gastrointestinal symptoms associated with your gut flora
  • Individual recommendations
  • All results are backed by scientific studies.

The test

Both makes sense! An intestinal microbiome analysis is a snapshot and can therefore tell you a lot about the current status of your intestinal health and general well-being. An unhealthy lifestyle and diet can lead to intestinal complaints in the long term.
An analysis of the intestinal microbiome, if you have complaints, is therefore definitely useful. Even if you have no symptoms, a well-founded intestinal microbiome analysis can help you explore and optimise your intestinal health.
The intestinal microbiome changes every few months, so a follow-up test is advisable to identify changes.

Home

Yes, medication and probiotics have an effect on your intestinal microbiome. Please always list the medications and probiotics, which you take. Only then can we include this information in the evaluation.

Certain private insurance companies cover part of the costs. However, this is not yet standard practice. If you are privately insured, please ask the insurance company directly.
Public health insurances do not cover any costs at the moment. However, preventive measures are becoming increasingly important. The statements of the myBioma analysis can also have a preventive relevance. Therefore, we assume that in the future, health insurance companies will cover the costs of such an intestinal microbiome analysis.

Yes, sure! We will gladly send you your report as a PDF or by post. Though we have to charge a contribution towards expenses for printing the report. However, you will not have access to additional (background) information and news on the topic of intestinal microbiome and myBioma. Have a look at our free app!(https://play.google.com/  ,  https://apps.apple.com/)

Fragen & Antworten

Was ist das Mikrobiom?

Die Begriffe Mikrobiom und Mikrobiota bezeichnen im weitesten Sinn die Gesamtheit aller Mikroorganismen der Erde. Im engeren Sinn ist die Gesamtheit aller den Menschen oder andere Lebewesen besiedelnden Mikroorganismen gemeint. Mikroorganismen sind Bakterien, Viren, Pilze und Urbakterien. Den Hauptteil unseres Mikrobioms machen Bakterien aus. Die Symbiose (=Zusammenleben) zwischen Menschen und Bakterien steht im Vordergrund der Wissenschaft. Neue Erkenntnisse werden jeden Tag veröffentlicht.
Für den Moment fokussieren wir uns daher auf die Analyse der Darm-Bakterien.

Über myBioma

Wir sind ein österreichisches, medizin-technisches Startup, welches versucht allen Menschen leicht den Zugang zur High-Tech Bestimmung des Darm-Mikrobioms (=Darmflora) zu ermöglichen.
Um die Analyse wissenschaftlich fundiert durchführen zu können, arbeiten wir eng mit europäischen Universitäten zusammen. Der Analyse-Bericht wurde von mehreren Experten geprüft.

Wir unterscheiden uns von herkömmlichen Darm-Mikrobiom Analysen durch die Nutzung der modernsten Technologien und verknüpfen sie mit unserer eigens entwickelten bioinformatischen Pipeline. Dadurch schaffen wir es all deine bakteriellen Spezies quantitative zu identifizieren und auch deren Funktionen prädiktiv zu bestimmen.

Der Schutz deiner Daten ist einer der relevantesten Herausforderungen für uns. Die Daten werden verschlüsselt auf sicheren Servern in Österreich gespeichert und jeder unberechtigte Zugriff wird sofort gemeldet.
Weiters findet kein Transfer deiner Daten zu Versicherungen, Banken oder Werbeinstitutionen statt.

Wir starten in Österreich, Deutschland und Schweiz. In den kommenden Monaten möchten wir ganz Europa die Möglichkeit geben die genaueste Darm-Mikrobiom Analyse durchführen zu können.

Die europäische Mikrobiominitiative ist ein Crowd-Science Projekt, das von mehreren Universitäten ins Leben gerufen wurde. myBioma stellt die Analyse-Kits, Logistik und technische Bearbeitung Universitäten zur Verfügung.

Wir sind ständig auf der Suche nach Mikrobiom-Enthusiasten und Pionieren. Falls du interessiert bist unserem Team beizutreten oder Botschafter zu werden, dann kontaktiere uns bitte unter office@mybioma.com.

Insbesondere suchen wir nach Software Developer als auch Marketing Allrounders.

Bestellung

Das stimmt. Jedoch wird die Analyse bei deinem Arzt auf Basis von Stuhlkulturen durchgeführt. Solche Kulturen sind eine der ältesten Analysemethode (seit 200 Jahren) und sind inakkurat in der quantitativen Detektion von unterschiedlichen Bakterien.

Außerdem erkennt eine Analyse mittels Stuhlkultur im Durchschnitt 10 unterschiedliche Bakterienspezien, wohingegen unsere Methode (Next Generation Sequencing) über 1000 verschiedene Bakterienarten erkennen kann. Aufgrund der Neuheit von Next Generation Sequencing ist die Analyse sehr kostenintensiv.

Damit der gesamte Prozess, also von Bestellung bis Erhalt des Ergebnisses, für dich so einfach wie möglich ist, verlangen wir keine extra Kosten für Rückversand. Du musst einfach nur das Kuvert in den Postkasten werfen.

Das Stuhlröhrchen enthält eine Lösung, in der deine Bakterien den Transport in unser Labor auch ungekühlt überleben . Egal ob Sommer oder Winter – der Postversand kann deine Ergebnisse nicht beeinflussen.

Das Stuhlröhrchen wird luftdicht verschlossen. Daher kann weder Geruch noch Flüssigkeit austreten.

Analyse

Die Analyse basiert auf Next Generation Sequencing. Hierbei handelt es sich um die modernste Methode zur DNA-Bestimmung. Wir nutzen diese Methode, um die DNA deiner Bakterien zu analysieren. So wissen wir welche Bakterien sich in deinem Stuhl befinden und wie gut sie z.B.: Zucker verstoffwechseln.

Die Entnahme ist ganz einfach und schnell. In deinem Kit findest du eine Anleitung mit folgenden Schritten:

  1. Stuhlfänger auf die WC-Schüssel kleben.
  2. Probe mittels Entnahmestab an 3 Stellen entnehmen.
  3. Entnahmestab im Röhrchen umrühren und fest zuschrauben.
  4. Röhrchen kostenfrei an uns zurück schicken.

Direkt nach deiner Bestellung schicken wir das Kit zu dir nach Hause. Nach der Stuhlentnahme wirfst du das Kuvert mit dem Röhrchen in den Postkasten und wir extrahieren die DNA und bereiten die Sequenzierung vor. Anschließend muss die Probe von uns noch bioinformatisch verarbeitet werden.

Unser Ziel ist es, die Analyse-Zeit auf 2 Wochen zu kürzen. Anfangs kann es jedoch teilweise auch ein wenig länger dauern bis du dein Ergebnis erhältst (~ 4-6 Wochen).

Wir analysieren all deine Bakterien und kombinieren die Ergebnisse mit aktuellsten Studien. Dein Ergebnis beinhaltet folgende Punkte:

  • Diversität und Gesundheit deines Darms
  • Enterotypen-Bestimmung
  • Produktion von Vitaminen und Einblicke in den Zucker-, Fett-, und Proteinstoffwechsel
  • Entzündungsindikatoren und Infektionen
  • Auswirkungen deiner Darmflora auf Immunsystem, Leber, Gewicht, Diabetes und Herz-Kreislauf Erkrankungen
  • Magen-Darm-Symptome assoziiert mit deiner Darmflora
  • Individuelle Empfehlungen
  • Alle Ergebnisse sind mit wissenschaftlichen Studien hinterlegt.

Wir möchten das Erlebnis deiner Darmflora so angenehm wie möglich machen. Daher kannst du die Resultate in unserer kostenlosen myBioma App (iOS/Android) einsehen. Alternativ besteht die Möglichkeit den Bericht als PDF zu erhalten.

Beides macht Sinn! Eine Darm-Mikrobiom Analyse ist eine Momentaufnahme und kann dir daher viel über den aktuellen Status deiner Darmgesundheit und dem allgemeinen Wohlbefinden sagen. Eine ungesunde Lebens- und Ernährungsweise kann nämlich auch langfristig zu Darmbeschwerden führen.
Eine Analyse des Darm-Mikrobioms, wenn man Beschwerden hat, ist daher auf jeden Fall sinnvoll. Auch wenn man keine Beschwerden hat, kann dir eine fundierte Darm-Mikrobiom Analyse helfen deine Darmgesundheit zu erkunden.
Das Darm-Mikrobiom verändert sich alle paar Monate, daher ist ein Folgetest ratsam um Veränderungen auch wirklich zu identifizieren.

Ja, Medikamente und Probiotika haben einen Einfluss auf dein Darm-Mikrobiom. Gib bitte daher immer deine Medikamente und auch Probiotika an, die du einnimmst. Nur dann können wir diese Informationen auch in die Auswertung aufnehmen.

Derzeit noch nicht. Präventivmaßnahmen werden jedoch immer wichtiger. Die Aussagen der myBioma Analyse können auch präventiv eine Relevanz haben. Daher gehen wir davon aus, dass in der Zukunft Krankenkassen die Kosten für eine solche Darm-Mikrobiom Analyse übernehmen werden.

Ja, klar! Wir senden dir gerne deinen Bericht als PDF oder auch per Post zu. Allerdings hast du dann nicht Zugriff auf zusätzliche (Hintergrund-) Informationen und Neuigkeiten zum Thema Darm-Mikrobiom und myBioma.